The Breville Oracle Touch Espresso Machine Review 2022

Spread the love

It is our review of the Breville Oracle Touch espresso machine.

Coffee Aim’s Ratings

 Our readers send us more than 350 emails across the US about the Breville Oracle Touch. The below table shows our rating for the Breville Oracle Touch espresso machine:

Overall Score94.85/100
Easy to clean9.84/10
Temperature Control9.64/10
Flavor9.54/10
Easy to use9.44/10
Blending power9.34/10
Value for money9.10/10
Brand Reputation9.50/10
Breville BES990BSS Oracle Touch Fully Automatic Espresso Machine, Brushed Stainless Steel

The Bottom Line

Breville’s best espresso machine model, the Oracle Touch, brews your favorite café coffee in three easy steps – grind, brew, and milk. With the most significant reservoir (84 oz) and bean hopper capacity (8 oz), brushed stainless steel construction materials, 39.2 x 37.3 x 4 (WxDxH) dimensions, integrated burr grinder, 7 settings: (1) Touch screen operation, (2) 5 pre-programmed Café favorites, (3) Create, save and name 8 customizable coffee settings, (4) Adjustable Grind Control, (5) Programmable Milk Temperature and Texture, (6) One/Two Shots, (7) Hot Water, 3 milk texturing: (a) Powerful hands-free milk texturing, (b) Adjustable Milk Texture and Temperature (+/- 1°F), (c) Automatic steam wand purge cleaning, the Breville Oracle Touch has it all.

Key Features and Specifications of Breville Oracle Touch Espresso Machine 

  • Color: Brushed Stainless Steel
  • Dimensions (WxDxH): 15.4″ x 14.7″ x 17.8″
  • Item Weight: 37.3 pounds
  • Bean Hopper Capacity: 1/2 lb
  • Water Tank Capacity: 84 oz
  • Integrated Burr Grinder: Hardened steel conical burrs
  • Settings: (1) Touch screen operation, (2) 5 pre-programmed Café favorites, (3) Create, save and name 8 customizable coffee settings, (4) Adjustable Grind Control, (5) Programmable Milk Temperature and Texture, (6) One/Two Shots, (7) Hot Water
  • Machine Construction Material: Brushed Stainless Steel
  • Dual Boiler Construction Material: Stainless Steel Dual Boiler
  • Milk Texturing: (a) Powerful hands-free milk texturing, (b) Adjustable Milk Texture and Temperature (+/- 1°F), (c) Automatic steam wand purge cleaning
  • Brewing System: Breville Oracle Touch Brewing System limits the 15 bar Italian pump pressure throughout the extraction, preventing bitter flavors in the shot
  • Dual-boiler: Professional dual-boiler construction
  • Temperature Control: PID Temperature Control
  • Steam Boiler: Dedicated steam boiler with integrated Heat Exchange aids thermal stability
  • Espresso Boiler with Digital PID Control: Dedicated espresso boiler with Digital PID control delivers precise water temperature
  • Group Head–PID: Heated group head–PID controlled embedded element maintains thermal stability
  • Shot Control: Espresso shot clock displays shot duration as a guide to extraction consistency
  • Interface: Touch Screen Control, Easily Customizable Settings, and Pre-set cafe menu
  • Portafilter: Commercial grade 58mm portafilter
  • Group Head: Heated Grouphead for brew temp control
  • Tamping: Hands-free auto grind, dose, and tamp
  • Grind Settings: 45 precision grind settings
  • Accessories: (1) Mini Grinds Bin, (2) 58mm Full Stainless Steel Portafilter, (3) 1 cup & 2 cups Single Wall Filter Baskets, (4) 480ml Stainless Steel Milk Jug, (5) Steam Wand spare parts, (6) Cleaning Kit, (7) Water Hardness Test Strip, (8) Water Filter Holder and Water Filter
  • Power: 1800 Watts
  • Voltage: 110–120 Volts
  • Warranty: 2 Year Repair Warranty
ProsCons
Comes with auto-tamping Too expensive
Integrated dosing grinder
Available in 4 colors: Brushed Stainless Steel, Black Truffle, Damson Blue, and Black Stainless Steel
Intuitive touchscreen display
It limits bitterness in a shot by its overpressure value
Two-year repair warranty

Introduction

The Breville Oracle Touch Espresso Machine is truly one of a kind. It is fully automated and uses a touch screen to make your espresso-making process as simple as possible. Through only three simple steps – grind, brew, and milk – you’ll have a consistently delicious shot of espresso. The Oracle Touch is the perfect example of a machine representing all the third-wave specialty coffee values. Using the four key formulas, Breville ensures that each brew has a rich, full flavor, the perfect body, balanced taste, and a silky mouthfeel. The Oracle Touch comes with a stainless steel dual boiler, temperature control, and eight customizable coffee settings, making it the perfect machine for the at-home espresso.

Dose Control Grinding

The Oracle Touch uses an integrated precision conical burr grinder that automatically grinds, doses, and tamps 22 grams of coffee. You get terrific freshly ground coffee with a rich flavor profile.

Optimal Water Pressure

This machine makes use of an Over Pressure Valve. This valve controls the water pressure to ensure it isn’t too much – if the water pressure is too high, this may make the brew taste bitter. The Oracle Touch’s low-pressure pre-infusion technology makes it so that the pressure gradually increases and spreads out to ensure even extraction.

Precise Espresso Extraction

The Oracle Touch is fully automated, and its digital temperature control settings make sure you get balanced tasting espresso every time. This digital temperature control feature detects when the water is precisely at the right temperature for optimal espresso extraction.

Automatic Microfoam Milk Texturing

This machine makes use of a self-cleaning steam wand which is powered by a dedicated boiler. The magic of this wand is that it automatically textures milk to the perfect consistency and produces professional-level microfoam. This foam enhances the flavor of your coffee and makes it possible to create latte art from the comfort of your kitchen.

Touch Screen

The Oracle Touch is genuinely one of the most accessible Breville machines to operate, and its touch screen feature is perhaps the most crucial reason why this is the case. The touch screen allows users to swipe and select between espresso, long black, latté, flat white, or cappuccino. This simple interface lets you make café quality coffee at home.

Personalization

The Oracle Touch lets you customize your particular brews and save them under your unique name and its ease of use. This machine allows you to adjust factors like milk texture, temperature, and coffee strength to make your drink exactly to your taste.

Capacity and Settings

The Oracle Touch comes with loads of cool features to enhance your coffee drinking experience. Some of these include a 1/2 lb Bean Hopper; 67 oz Water Tank; Touch Screen Operation with 5 Pre-Programmed Favourites; Create, save, and name 8 customizable settings; Adjustable Grind Control; Programmable Milk Temperature & Texture; One/Two shots.

My and My Family Experience with The Breville Oracle Touch

Let me review how my wife and I use the Breville Oracle Touch espresso machine. My wife and I are preparing our two children to go to school in the morning. We have a hard time making coffee because of the short time, so we are moving around a lot, and we need something simple. Many friends have advised us to try one of the Nespresso pod machines or Keurig coffee makers. Though both Nespresso and Keurig make good quality espresso and coffee in less time, we want more than espresso or coffee and a machine that gives us a real taste of coffee and espresso. You must have understood that we want to grind coffee beans with our own hands and brew them.

We used the Breville Barista Express (now I have it in my office). However, Barista Express has been an excellent machine for us. The problem was that my wife never felt comfortable using it. The extra time we spent using it made our mornings difficult. My wife enjoys making drinks, but it’s tough to get a drink every day, trying to get out the door early in the morning.

What kind of machine is this Breville Oracle Touch? 

First and foremost, both my wife and my daughter love it. My wife uses it daily, twice a day, herself. When my wife is not at home, it is my daughter’s responsibility to use and clean it, and it is straightforward to use and clean. Although the price was something, I was ashamed to tell my family before. I didn’t even tell my family how much it would cost for a week or two. I wanted my family to love it first. My game was on point, and it worked. I got some reactions, but man, I saved a lot of grief.

How Much Time Does Breville Oracle Touch Consume to Brew Coffee?

Any member of our family can easily make a drink in one minute using the Breville Oracle Touch espresso machine, but only one drink is made in one minute. The device is fully automated except for tampering with the portafilter to the extractor (I don’t have much chance of correct names, but you understand). The machine has an auto-on setting, so when I or any member of my family uses it, it gets on and hot for us immediately. The device even has a heater for portafilter, which heats up before grinding the beans.

Grinding and Tamping

I never knew much about it, but a friend of mine who is a barista and owns a Starbucks coffee shop franchise in New York told me that it helps the taste of coffee if the portafilter is hot when grinding coffee. Most surprisingly, the machine automatically tamps ground coffee. When I was tamping myself, my biggest problem was finding constant pressure while tamping. I’m not a regular barista, so I always make a different quality drink. But ever since I started using Breville Oracle Touch, the quality here has been the same every once in a while.

User-Friendly Water Reservoir

Another thing I like about this machine is that maybe very few people think when buying a coffee machine about the size of the water reservoir and how to fill it. Unlike most devices, the Breville Oracle Touch does not require you to remove the water container or open the back lid to fill the water. You set the container in the machine when you use it for the first time after purchase, and then there is no need to remove it to refill. An open mouth is made in front to refill it.

Perhaps replenishing an espresso machine’s water reservoir has never been easier; the Oracle Touch has been made so simple by thinking about all the needs of the machine users. In addition, it contains enough water for our family to be replenished every few to four days with regular use.

Everything is programmable with a touch screen, from grinding size to low temperature.

Milk Frothing Capability

One reviewer said that the Breville Oracle Touch “can’t make lattes” because of the low-quality milk foam. I want to address that. First of all, this machine can make a perfect latte and other espresso-based recipes for the average person out there. If you are a barista or someone who only demands high-quality foam, then yes, this is probably where the machine produces a slightly lower quality foam than the full manual espresso machine. When my wife and I make foam manually, we make it perfect. Accurate, Breville Oracle Touch may not work as a manual espresso machine, but it works very well.

However, our experience shows that manual espresso machines often take twice as long to foam milk as the Oracle Touch, and also they require constant attention. The Breville Oracle Touch allows you to set the temperature you want for milk and foam. It automatically stops foaming at the desired temperature. The machine is excellent. It makes a perfect foam, IMO, but not an extraordinary good foam. As far as coffee and espresso are concerned, I’m sure you can make it better manually because of their consistency.

Now a barista might make a better coffee than the Oracle Touch, but neither I nor anyone in my family can. I am an average coffee drinker who wants a good quality coffee in the morning, and easily and quickly. The Breville Oracle Touch requires almost zero cleaning efforts except for its frothing wand, and the machine is straightforward to operate in the cleaning cycle.

Grind and Strength Control

In the Breville Oracle Touch, you can always change your grinding and coffee pouring. For example, if you want a strong coffee, you can make the grinding smaller, but it can take less time to extract. However, the machine allows you to enter and add brewing time to the shot quickly, getting your full two ounces. If you buy a Breville Oracle Touch, I recommend purchasing a 2-ounce (minimum) shot glass so you can check your grinding ratio.

Add time if you can’t find two ounces. Check when you get it with a small bag. Just assume you’re going to burn through a coffee test bag (use the coffee you intend to drink because the results change with each bean type). Tap it and make sure you get your two ounces, and you’re set.

Beautiful Crema

The Breville Oracle Touch creates a beautiful crema. Even at my best “pulses,” I did not find a crema like this machine. Do yourself a favor if you have the time; shoot in a clear transparent glass to see if the bubble bursts from below as you pull the shot. It is imposing.

These are my thoughts and my family too. Take this machine if you have money. Don’t look back; I know the development of thinking. It’s like “want, need, doubt, price, doubt, price, price, want, need, almost buy, go back, price, need, etc.” Unless you are looking for excellence, you will feel that you have made the best purchase decision in the long run. I think it’s better than a Starbucks coffee shot (just my opinion), and, considering the price you pay for a Starbucks beverage, this machine pays for itself on time. Also, rest assured, it’s very well made. It is a very good, strong (cumbersome), solid machine.

Is Breville Oracle Touch For You?

Verdict: The Breville Oracle Touch Espresso Machine Review

Coffee Aim’s Ratings

Overall Score94.85/100
Easy to clean9.84/10
Temperature Control9.64/10
Flavor9.54/10
Easy to use9.44/10
Blending power9.34/10
Value for money9.10/10
Brand Reputation9.50/10
Breville BES990BSS Oracle Touch Fully Automatic Espresso Machine, Brushed Stainless Steel

The Bottom Line

Breville’s best espresso machine model, the Oracle Touch, brews your favorite café coffee in three easy steps – grind, brew, and milk. With the most significant reservoir (84 oz) and bean hopper capacity (8 oz), brushed stainless steel construction materials, 39.2 x 37.3 x 4 (WxDxH) dimensions, integrated burr grinder, 7 settings: (1) Touch screen operation, (2) 5 pre-programmed Café favorites, (3) Create, save and name 8 customizable coffee settings, (4) Adjustable Grind Control, (5) Programmable Milk Temperature and Texture, (6) One/Two Shots, (7) Hot Water, 3 milk texturing: (a) Powerful hands-free milk texturing, (b) Adjustable Milk Texture and Temperature (+/- 1°F), (c) Automatic steam wand purge cleaning, the Breville Oracle Touch has it all.

Breville BES990BSS Oracle Touch Fully Automatic Espresso Machine, Brushed Stainless Steel

Similar Posts